Case Study: Ingenico Magento extension

Since 2011, we continually develop the Magento extension for the payment provider Ingenico – formerly called Ogone. Apart from extension development, we also provide technical support for the extension. This optimally helps merchants during installation and configuration and allows Ingenico to focus fully on its core business

Project description

In 2011, Ingenico (formerly Ogone) was looking for a reliable Magento extension partner. We were able to convince by our experience in and comprehensive service portfolio for Magento extensions. Since then, Ingenico is one of our most loyal customers. Apart from the actual development of the Magento extension, we provide wide-ranging support for merchants, developers, and agencies who integrate the module. In addition, we continuously improve the extension and resolve any issues that might occur fast and reliably. This example shows that successful Magento extension implementation requires comprehensive support and regular updates.

Implementation

We are in close contact with Ingenico during the whole development process, emphasizing direct means of contact such as telephone, mail, and Skype. This quickly elucidates questions and tasks, allowing for efficient use of development time. The Ingenico extension is continuously being developed and improved. We resolve bugs and implement new functions into the extension – based on Ingenico’s instructions as well as our suggestions. There are about two or three releases each year.

Since 2016, we develop new features of the Ingenico extension using the agile project management method SCRUM. This includes a bi-weekly presentation of our results via webcast. The new functions are then provided to Ingenico in a staging system for quality control before being released to the public.

Ingenico additionally has access to our internal wiki for better overview and control. Here, our customers find information regarding current contacts, projects, and open tasks for the extension. Ingenico also has access to our ticket system JIRA, allowing them to see and create current sprint plans and tickets.

Challenges

There are always smaller and larger obstacles to overcome when developing extensions that connect an external service to Magento. An example is the subscription manager feature for recurring payments. The challenge lies in connecting Magento and the Ingenico platform with their very disparate requirements. Magento in part required data which the Ingenico platform could not provide, necessitating a lot of individual development.

A further challenge was the implementation of the new PCI-DSS version 3.1 regulation. The Payment Card Industry Data Security Standards regulate the processing of credit card transactions. The new version required that all payment-relevant data needs to be hosted on the sites or sources of the payment service provider. We needed to significantly change the extension’s process to comply with the regulations, so that the payment forms are not generated in the shop during payment, but rather get pulled from the Ingenico platform.

Extensive documentation

We have created detailed documentation for Ingenico – as for all extensions that we develop. In the beginning, this was formulated and updated by us for Ingenico. Now, we provide Ingenico with the technical details and their team updates the documentation for clients.

Publication

We have also taken over the publication of the extension on Magento Connect during the first years of our support for Ingenico. Since 2016, Ingenico has its own Magento Connect / Marketplace account. Now, we only provide Ingenico with the completed extension package or new version and assist them with the publication on Magento Connect / Marketplace.

Support portal

After publishing an extension for the first time, we begin with what might be the most important tasks in extension development. We start the technical support for the module – in collaboration with the Ingenico customer care team. Simple and smaller problems are solved by the Ingenico team; we competently support extension users in more complicated matters.

The demanding and customizable Magento Shop system makes professional technical support virtually indispensable. This is where we are an essential partner for our customers. Our customers – such as Ingenico – can focus on their core tasks and services thanks to our extension support.

We have established a support portal for the Magento extension to provide online merchants, developers, and agencies with reliable support on setup. Here, most questions are answered in a comprehensive and ever-growing FAQ database. Tickets can be created for individual questions which the FAQ cannot answer; these are replied to within 24 hours by our team.

Optimisation, bug fixing, and compatibility

Bugs and usability problems are immediately reported to us thanks to our direct contact with the extension users. This allows us to quickly respond. We gather these reports and implement solutions after consultation and discussion with Ingenico.

We additionally test whether the current Ingenico extension is compatible with each new Magento release or security patch. If needed, we make the necessary changes.

Marcus Lilienthal
Channel/Strategic Alliance Manager DACH

"Netresearch has been our reliable full-service Magento extension partner for years. As a globally leading payment solutions provider, we face constantly changing technological and security-related challenges. The digital economy has permanently changed global trade. Netresearch is a reliable partner who provides us, our customers, and our business partners with dependable support, enabling us to always provide the high-quality flexibility global trade demands. We are pleased to continue our successful collaboration with Netresearch in future as well."

Customer profile: Ingenico ePayments

Ingenico is the globally leading payment solution provider. The company enables merchants and banks to process cashless payment over all sales channels – online, mobile, and at the POS. Ingenico actively helps shape the global payment market with focus on technical innovations and security topics.

www.ingenico.com/epayments

Technologies

  • Magento
  • Ingenico ePayments
  • Freshdesk (Support Portal)
  • Git
  • Confluence
  • JIRA

Features

  • Integration of more than 30 payment methods
  • Subscription Manager
  • Customizable styles for payment processes
  • Configurable logos for all payment methods
  • Admin-orders (mail- / telephone-order - MO/TO)
  • PayPerMail payment for MO/TO - customer selects payment method in follow-up on his own
  • Retry/Resend Payment Features, to finalize initial failed payments
  • Alias Manager Integration for secure storage and reuse of card data in the shop
  • Simplified PCI SAQ A/A-EP validation
  • Complete transaction management (capture, refund etc.) via Magento Admin Panel
  • Complete transaction information in Magento backend
  • Support of fraud detection
  • Support of 3D Secure
  • 5 languages: EN, DE, FR, IT, NL

Contact us

Are you interested in your own professional Magento extension to connect your service with Magento shops? We are your competent partner for the development, maintenance and support of Magento extensions.

Contact

Case Study: Ingenico Magento Extension

Wir entwickeln bereits seit 2011 die Magento Extension für den Zahlungsanbieter Ingenico, damals noch Ogone. Neben der Extension Entwicklung übernehmen wir außerdem noch die Weiterentwicklung und den technischen Support für die Extension. Damit werden die Händler bei der Installation und Konfiguration optimal unterstützt und Ingenico kann sich ganz auf sein Kerngeschäft konzentrieren.

Projektbeschreibung

Im Jahr 2011 war Ingenico, damals noch Ogone, auf der Suche nach einem zuverlässigen Magento Extension Partner. Wir konnten nicht zuletzt durch unsere Erfahrung und Spezialisierung auf Magento Extensions und unser umfangreiches Service Angebot rund um Magento Extensions überzeugen. Seitdem gehört Ingenico zu unseren treuesten Kunden. Neben der eigentlichen Entwicklung der Magento Extension, übernehmen wir noch umfangreiche Support-Leistungen für Händler, Entwickler und Agenturen, welche das Modul einbinden. Zudem entwickeln wir es stetig weiter und beheben aufkommende Fehler schnell und zuverlässig. Hier wird deutlich, dass zum Erfolg von Magento Extensions eine umfangreiche Unterstützung und regelmäßige Aktualisierungen unabdingbar sind.

Umsetzung

Während der kompletten Entwicklung pflegen wir engen Kontakt zu Ingenico über möglichst kurze Kontaktwege wie Telefon, Mail und Skype. So können Fragen und Aufgaben schnell geklärt und die Zeit effizient für die Entwicklung genutzt werden. Die Ingenico Extension wird stets weiterentwickelt und verbessert. Wir beheben Bugs und erweitern die Extension um neue Funktionen, welche teilweise von Ingenico angewiesen, aber auch von uns proaktiv vorgeschlagen werden. Insgesamt gibt es ca. zwei bis drei Releases pro Jahr.

Seit 2016 entwickeln wir neue Features der Ingenico Extension mit der agilen Projektmanagement-Methode SCRUM. Im Rahmen dessen stellen wir alle zwei Wochen die Ergebnisse unserer Entwicklung in einem Webcast vor. Die neuen Funktionen werden Ingenico zusätzlich zur Kontrolle auf einem Stagingsystem zur Verfügung gestellt, bevor sie veröffentlicht werden.

Zur besseren Übersicht und Kontrolle hat Ingenico außerdem Zugang zu unserem internen Wiki. Hier finden unsere Kunden Informationen zu den aktuellen Ansprechpartnern, Projekten und Aufgaben rund um die Extension. Zusätzlich hat Ingenico noch Zugriff auf unser Ticketsystem Jira, um aktuellen Sprintpläne und Tickets einsehen und erstellen zu können.

Herausforderungen

Bei der Entwicklung von Extensions, welche einen bestehenden Service an Magento anschließen, gibt es immer kleinere und größere Hürden zu meistern. So beispielsweise bei dem Feature Abonnement Management für regelmäßig wiederkehrende Bezahlungen. Die Herausforderung bestand darin, Magento und Ingenico mit deren sehr unterschiedlichen Bedürfnissen und Schnittstellen zu verbinden. Magento erforderte teilweise Daten und Schnittstellen, die das System von Ingenico nicht liefern konnte, wodurch viel Individualentwicklung notwendig war.

Eine weitere Herausforderung war die Umsetzung der neuen PCI-DSS Version 3.1 Regelung. Die Payment Card Industry Data Security Standards regelt die Abwicklung von Kreditkartentransaktionen. Die neue Version verlangte, dass alle zahlungsrelevanten Daten auf den Seiten bzw. Quellen des Service Providers gehostet werden müssen. Wir mussten zur Einhaltung der Regelung den Ablauf der Extension stark anpassen, damit die Formulare während der Bezahlung nicht im Shop generiert, sondern von Servern von Ingenico bezogen werden.

Umfangreiche Dokumentation

Wie für alle Extensions, die wir entwickeln, haben wir auch für Ingenico eine detaillierte Dokumentation verfasst. Anfangs wurde diese für Ingenico noch von uns formuliert und aktualisiert. Mittlerweile liefern wir die technischen Details an Ingenico und deren Team aktualisiert die Dokumentation selbst für den Endkunden.

Veröffentlichung

In den ersten Jahren der Betreuung von Ingenico haben wir auch die Veröffentlichung der Extension auf dem Magento Connect Marktplatz übernommen. Seit 2016 hat Ingenico einen eigenen Connect Account. Seitdem liefern wir die fertige Extension bzw. die neue Version nur noch an Ingenico aus und unterstützen sie bei der Veröffentlichung auf Magento Connect.

Support-Portal

Nach der Veröffentlichung der Extension beginnen wir mit den wohl wichtigsten Aufgaben in der Extension Entwicklung. Wir übernehmen gemeinsam mit dem Ingenico Customer Care den technischen Support für das Modul. Dabei werden einfache und kleinere Probleme vom Ingenico Team gelöst, bei den komplizierten helfen wir den Extension-Anwendern kompetent weiter.

Das anspruchsvolle und individualisierbare Magento Shopsystem macht einen professionellen technischen Support nahezu unumgänglich. Genau an dieser Stelle sind wir für unsere Kunden ein unverzichtbarer Partner. Durch unseren Extension-Support können sich unsere Kunden - wie Ingenico - auf ihre Kerndienstleistungen und -services konzentrieren können.

Damit Onlinehändler, Entwickler und Agenturen zuverlässig Hilfe bei der Einrichtung bekommen, haben wir ein Support-Portal für die Magento Extension eingerichtet. Hier werden häufige Fragen in einer umfangreichen und ständig wachsenden FAQ Datenbank beantwortet. Individuelle Fragen können über ein Ticketsystem gestellt werden, welche von unseren Mitarbeitern innerhalb von 24 Stunden beantwortet werden.

Optimierung, Bugfixing und Kompatibilität

Durch unseren direkten Kontakt zu den Nutzern der Extension bekommen wir Bugs und Usability-Probleme direkt gemeldet und können dementsprechend schnell reagieren. Wir sammeln diese und setzen sie nach Rücksprache mit Ingenico um.

Zusätzlich prüfen wir auch selbst bei Erscheinen einer neuen Magento-Version oder eines Sicherheitspatches, ob die aktuelle Ingenico Extension noch kompatibel ist und nehmen ggf. nötige Änderungen vor.

Marcus Lilienthal
Channel/Strategic Alliance Manager DACH

„Mit Netresearch haben wir seit Jahren einen verlässlichen Full Service Magento Extension Partner. Als weltweit führender Anbieter von Bezahllösungen stehen wir ständig wechselnden technologischen und sicherheitsrelevanten Herausforderungen gegenüber. Die digitale Wirtschaft hat den globalen Handel nachhaltig verändert. Netresearch ist ein verlässlicher Partner der uns, unsere Kunden und Geschäftspartner zuverlässig unterstützt, die vom globalen Handel geforderte Flexibilität auf hohem Qualitätsniveau jederzeit zur Verfügung zu stellen. Wir freuen uns darauf mit Netresearch auch in Zukunft erfolgreich zusammenzuarbeiten.“

Bildergalerie

Kundenprofil: Ingenico ePayments

Ingenico ist der weltweit führende Anbieter von Bezahllösungen. Das Unternehmen ermöglicht Händlern und Banken die Abwicklung bargeldloser Bezahlvorgänge über alle Verkaufskanäle hinweg – online, mobil und am POS. Mit dem Fokus auf technische Innovationen und Sicherheitsthemen gestaltet Ingenico den globalen Payment-Markt aktiv mit.

www.ingenico.com/epayments

Technologien

  • Magento
  • Ingenico ePayments
  • Freshdesk (Support Portal)
  • Git
  • Confluence
  • JIRA

Features

  • Integration von über 30 Zahlarten
  • Abonnement Funktion/Subscription Manager
  • Anpassbare Styles für Zahlungsprozess
  • Konfigurierbare Logos für alle Zahlarten
  • Adminbestellungen (Mail- / Telefon-Bestellung - MO/TO)
  • PayPerMail Zahlart für MO/TO - Kunde wählt Zahlart im Nachgang selbst
  • Retry/Resend Payment Features, um initial fehlgeschlagene Zahlungen zum Abschluss zu führen
  • Alias Manager Integration für die sichere Speicherung und Wiederverwendung von Kartendaten im Shop
  • Vereinfachte PCI SAQ A/A-EP Validierung
  • Komplettes Transaktionsmanagement (Capture, Refund usw.) über das Magento Admin Panel
  • Vollständige Transaktionsinformationen im Magento-Backend
  • Unterstützung von Betrugserkennung (Fraud Detection)
  • 3D Secure Unterstützung
  • 5 Sprachen: EN, DE, FR, IT, NL

Kontaktieren Sie uns

Sind auch Sie auf der Suche nach einem professionellen Partner für die Entwicklung Ihrer TYPO3 Website inklusive der Anbindung Ihrer Systeme? Dann freuen wir uns auf Ihre Anfrage!

Kontakt